Skip to content

Israeli Couscous with Roasted Eggplant and Golden Raisins

January 4, 2011

Every cook has one (or even a couple) ingredients that he or she is apprehensive about cooking with.  For me, it’s eggplant.  It’s not that I don’t like eggplant.  In restaurants, I love the flavor and consistency of roasted eggplant.  I enjoy eggplant Parmesan immensely.  And I will never forget the thinly sliced, marinated Japanese eggplant I ordered at Seattle restaurant boom noodle.  Despite my fond memories of eating this odd vegetable, I don’t care for the rubbery feel of its skin when I pick it up at the grocery store.  I also worry about baking or roasting properly, instead of ending up with flavorless pieces of mush.

After executing this couscous recipe, I’m no longer afraid of eggplant.  This recipe yields a healthy and hearty side dish full of antioxidants from the both the eggplant and raisins.

Ingredients:

  • Kosher salt
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbs Balsamic vinegar
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 large eggplant, diced into 1/2″ cubes
  • 1/3 c. red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 c. Israeli couscous
  • 1/3 c. golden raisins

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Coat diced eggplant with 2 tbs evoo and a few dashes of Kosher salt.
  3. Place in oven and roast for about 30 minutes.
  4. While eggplant is roasting, boil a pot of salted water.  Pour in the couscous and allow to cook for 8 minutes.  Drain and rinse with cold water.  Transfer couscous to a large bowl and allow to chill in the refrigerator.
  5. To make the dressing, whisk together the Balsamic vinegar, cinnamon, and cumin.  Slowly whisk in 3 tbs evoo.  Lastly, add the red onions.
  6. Once the eggplant has been roasted and cooled, add the eggplant, raisins, and dressing to the bowl of couscous.
  7. Toss and serve.

This dish can be eaten warm or chilled.  (I prefer it chilled!)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 10:10 pm

    Can’t wait to try this. Any tips for other things to try with couscous or other ways to serve it? Keep the great ideas coming!

    • Kristine Waggoner permalink*
      January 8, 2011 7:43 pm

      Other ways to serve it… how about for breakfast? I had a really delicious breakfast couscous at Whole Foods once with cranberries and thai chili, but can’t seem to find the recipe. I know you like oatmeal, so replace your oatmeal with this recipe for a weekend breakfast treat:

      Prepare the couscous in the same manner as described before. Add a couple handfuls of dried fruit/berries (dates, cranberries, apricots, etc). Sprinkle cinnamon and brown sugar to taste. Toss in some toasted slivered almonds, too. Finally, add a splash or two of almond or soy milk! 🙂 Let me know how it turns out! (you can also make this breakfast dish with quinoa)

  2. January 8, 2011 8:22 pm

    That sounds like an absolutely amazing breakfast. I think it may just about combine every favorite ingredient of mine. Thanks!

    • January 18, 2011 12:29 am

      I’ve made my couscous breakfast for tomorrow and can’t wait to eat it. It is so satisfying to start making meals for myself. It makes me pay attention more to what I am eating and feel some pride in the effort!

Leave a Reply

