Skip to content

Pork Chops in Beer

February 15, 2011

As long as I can remember, my mom has been making this recipe.  It was one of those dishes that I craved when I was away for college and one that I now enjoy making in my own home.  In fact, when I took this picture (above), I had already started to dig into it when my husband told me that I’d better take a picture for the blog before it was gone!  So, sorry for the messy photo.

This dish is easy to prepare and hard to mess-up even for the most inexperienced cook.  Happy Valentine’s Day!

Ingredients:

  • 2 – 3 Tbl flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 2-4 rib pork chops
  • 2-3 Tbl vegetable oil
  • 1 1/2 cup light beer (I used Bud Light)
  • garlic salt, to taste
  • 1/2 tsp caraway seed
  • 2 Tbl prepared mustard

Preparation:

  1. Combine flour, salt & pepper in gallon size ziplock bag.
  2. Heat vegetable oil in skillet (I used my cast iron!!!), MED-HIGH heat.
  3. Shake pork chops in flour mixture in bag and place in heated, oiled skillet.  Brown the chops on both sides (1-2 min/side).
  4. Lower heat and add 3/4 cup of beer, a light sprinkle of garlic salt, caraway seed, and mustard.
  5. Simmer slowly, continuing to add small amounts of beer as liquid in skillet evaporates/thickens, until pork chops are tender (about 45 minutes).
Once the pork is browned, the key is to cook LOW & SLOW.  If you rush, the chops can dry out & toughen up.  Keep the skillet partially covered as the chops are simmering.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

