Skip to content

Fish Tacos/Tacos de Pescado

May 5, 2011

Happy Cinco de Mayo! Join me for a taco!

I’ve tried a few new things this spring, one of them being gluten-free. Surprisingly, gluten-free is not boring, or even that difficult. I’m having fun learning new topics in nutrition and making delicious dinners that I may never have made otherwise.

For my fish tacos this evening, I used fresh, wild caught sole (on sale at Central Market for $6.99/lb!). I also picked up some small Calavo avocados (69¢ each), limes (3 for $1), and corn tortillas (30 for a little over $1). I already had cabbage and carrots left over in my fridge… score! Maybe I should also tag this as budget-friendly!

Ingredients:

  • ½ lb white fish (eg. tilapia, mahi mahi, cod)
  • 4 corn tortillas
  • ¼ head of green cabbage (thinly sliced)
  • 1 c carrots (match stick)
  • ½ avocado (sliced)
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar (found in the Asian section)
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2-3 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1 tbsp sriracha (found in the Asian section)
  • 1 small clove of garlic (minced)
  • 1 tbsp fresh lime juice
  • 2 tbsp fresh cilantro (chopped)

Preparation:

  1. Sriracha Mayo (can be made ahead and refrigerated): In a small serving bowl, mix together the mayo, sriracha, minced garlic, and lime juice.
  2. Slaw: Combine the cabbage and carrots in a large boil.  Toss with rice vinegar and salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Slice the avocado, roughly chop the cilantro, cut a few wedges of lime.
  4. Pan fry the fish.
  5. Warm the tortillas at a low temperature in oven, in the microwave for about 10 seconds, or in a pan on the stove top.

Assembly:

  1. Build your taco.  Start by filling the tortilla with a few pieces of fish. Next, top with slaw and 2-3 avocado slices. Dress with sriracha mayo, cilantro, and juice from a lime wedge!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melvin Tan permalink
    May 5, 2011 12:41 pm

    Awesome! Sriracha mayo sounds so good. We miss you around here.

    • Kristine Waggoner permalink*
      May 5, 2011 5:38 pm

      Thanks, Melvin!

  2. May 5, 2011 2:34 pm

    I can say from experience, this is good stuff :)…especially the sauce.

Leave a comment