Skip to content

Bok Choy and Ramen Soup

June 23, 2011
 

I’m going to fess-up and admit to NEVER having prepared bok choy.  I’ve had it at resturants and in stir frys that others have made, but I’ve always wanted to buy it to cook in my own kitchen.  One day, while strolling through the Tower Grove Farmers’ Market, the opportunity to buy bok choy finally presented itself.  It was bright, crisp, and pleasing to the eye, and I had to have it!

But now what do I do with it?  Stir fry? No, I wanted to make my bok choy the star of the dish.  I wanted to keep it simple but make it into a hearty, warm, and filling meal.  Sometimes Most of the time Every time I get home from a market, I immediately want to cook with all the wonderful goodies that I bring home.  So I really didn’t want to make that extra trip to the grocery store, and I just happened to pick up some delicious looking carrots while I was perusing the market.  I began my search through cabinets and the fridge to see what else I had that would accompany these lovely veggies.  Low and behold I found a packet of ramen noodles.  That’s it! I could make a very comforting and inexpensive soup – a ramen and bok choy soup! A little class to a typical college meal. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 med-lrg bok choy,  coarsely chopped
  • 1 cup chopped carrots
  • 3 cups of water
  • 1 pkg oriental/chicken-flavored ramen noodles

Preparation:

  1. Melt butter in large saucepot over medium heat and add garlic, bok choy, and carrots.  Saute for 2-3 mins.
  2. Add water and the ramen seasoning packet and bring to a boil on high heat.
  3. Once boiling, add noodles and stir. Reduce heat and simmer 3 minutes.
  4. Serve immediately once noodles and carrots become tender.  ENJOY!

Bok Choy and Ramen Soup

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kristine Waggoner permalink*
    July 31, 2011 2:13 pm

    Laura, this was such a good idea… thanks for posting it!!! It inspired me to make a similar soup for me and Eric a couple nights ago! I didn’t have all your ingredients so I substituted udon and chicken broth for the ramen and spinach for the bok choy–and it ended up being better than I expected!

Leave a Reply

