Skip to content

Curry Marinated Chicken Thighs & Coconut Rice

January 2, 2012

chicken thighs, marinated with curry pasta and yogurt, coconut milk with rice

One of my favorite web applications of 2011 is Pinterest. Pinterest is a virtual and social pinboard  designed for organizing one’s interests, ideas, dreams, and inspirations. It works like this: Users “pin” images from the internet onto virtual boards. For example, if I’m browsing Amazon and find a book that I’d like to read, I simply pin an image of the book onto one of my boards. Not only does Pinterest save this thought for me, but it also saves the website where I found it (like a bookmark). When I’m ready to start reading the book, I click on the image. Since the image is linked, I am taken back to Amazon where I can purchase it. Now, here comes the social part:  My friends, aka followers, will see my pins on their homepage and vice versa. If a follower likes my pin, she can repin the image to one of her boards. If you’re not on Pinterest yet, go create an account!  I guarantee you’ll be pinning like it’s your second job.

Are you wondering why I spent an entire paragraph endorsing Pinterest?  Well, it’s where I found and pinned my inspiration for this meal!

Curry Marinated Chicken

Ingredients

  • 4-6 chicken thighs (or whatever cut of chicken you’d like, with bone in or boneless, with skin or skinless)
  • 3 Tbs green thai curry
  • 2 cups yogurt
  • 2 Tbs cumin
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp pepper

Preparation (marinate ahead)

  1. Mix the yogurt (1 cup), curry, cumin (1 Tbs), garlic (about 5 cloves worth), and salt and pepper in a bowl.
  2. Add chicken to a gallon sized ziplock bag and pour the yogurt mixture over it, making sure to each piece is well coated.
  3. Allow chicken to marinate in the refrigerator overnight.
  4. Preheat oven to 425.
  5. Line a sheet pan with aluminum foil and place each thigh on the pan, evenly spaced.
  6. Roast for 30 minutes.
  7. Meanwhile, mix the remaining yogurt, cumin, garlic in a small bowl. Add a dollop as a tasty garnish once the chicken is plated.

Coconut Rice

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ cups jasmine rice
  • 1 can of coconut milk (regular or lite)
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 green onions, sliced diagonally

Preparation

  1. Rinse and drain the rice a few times with cool water.
  2. In a large pot, bring the rice, coconut milk, water, garlic and salt to a boil.
  3. Decrease heat to low, cover, and allow to simmer for 30-40 minutes.
  4. Garnish with green onions once plated.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

